Luka Modric poses with his Best Fifa Men’s Player Award alongside Marta with her Best Fifa Women’s Player Award CREDIT: TIM GOODE/PA WIRE

Luka Modric was named Best Fifa Footballer of the Year in a London ceremony noted as much for the the players in absentia as the awards.

The Croatian beat Mohamed Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo to become the first player other than Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to win since Kaka in 2007.

The award was decided by national team coaches and captains, select members of the media and online voting. Modric acknowledged both his club and national team achievements, which included winning the Golden Ball at the World Cup, as the deciding factors in claiming the award.

The Fifa Fifpro World XI (minus Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi) pose with their trophies CREDIT: BEN STANSALL/GETTY IMAGES

It wasn’t all about Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi for once – though both players did make the FifPro XI.

Here’s all the award winners:

Best Men’s: Luka Modric

Best Women’s: Marta

Puskas Award: Mohamed Salah

Best Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois

Best Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps

Best Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros

Fair Play: Lennart Thy

Fan Award: Peru fans


ALSO READ:   Check Out Cristiano Ronaldo's Incredible Juventus Wage